Map of south East Asia

The island of Phuket lies in the Andaman Sea off the South West coast of Thailand in the geographic region of Mainland Southeast Asia which comprises Cambodia, Laos, Burma, Thailand, Vietnam and Peninsular Malaysia. Phuket is separated from the mainland by the Chong Pak Phra channel at its northernmost point, where the Sarasin Bridge connects the island to the mainland. It takes about ten hours to drive the 900 km that separate the island from Bangkok. Neighbouring provinces are Phang Nga and Krabi. Countries bordering Thailand are Malaysia, Burma, Cambodia and Laos.